Paperbook vs. E-book

About 2 years ago, I was totally against e-books. I mean, what’s the charm of reading a book on your computer, tablet, or any other electronic device? My opinion slowly changed in the following months, and I started some research on E-books and E-book readers. And eventually, a year and a half ago, I bought a Kindle Paperwhite on a trip to London, UK, as at the time they were not available in my country.

I was positively surprised about the quality of reading using Kindle, and before the summer, 4 months after buying Kindle, my boyfriend and I decided we need another reader device. It became  impossible for us to share one. This time we chose a different one, also being a tablet, but primarily developed for reading. Kobo Arc was bought in Trieste, Italy. In addition, Kindle and Kobo support different E-book formats, giving as more options for buying E-books on bargains. Both of them serve us well and I’m glad I made the choice of trying reading E-books on electronic devices.

I still prefer having paperbooks on the shelves, by the bed, in my hands, but there are some advantages of E-books, that unfortunately can’t be said for paperbooks. Most of the time I read in bed before going to slip, and as E-books don’t need a light turned on, this also means an open bedroom window in summer nights, no mosquitoes, and no annoying itching in the morning. I love reading thick books that last longer. And when going to a doctors appointment, where I know in advance I’ll have to wait my turn, what’s better than relaxing with a book in your hands. Well, E-book takes off a lot of weight to carry around, and fits in my shoulder bags much better than a 800-page novel would. In addition, I can store much more than 1 book in the 200-g device, so this also means less luggage and less weight to carry around. Living in a small apartment is not always friendly for storing books, and having E-books saves some space. Often, I find bargains on E-books, selling cheaper than in a local book store, and saving more money means getting more books for the same price.

Paperbook vs. E-book

 

However, there are some disadvantages to E-books and readers as well. A battery can run out, and you’re out of reading material. Again, advantage of readers vs. tablets is that reader’s battery usually lasts longer. In addition, E-books are not available widely in all languages, so this is a problem for those that read books in their native language. And if you spend your days working on a computer, using another electronic device in the evening before falling a sleep is probably not what you have in mind for relaxing evening.

The way this works for me is that I change from reading paperbooks to E-books frequently. This way I can enjoy a good old book with a cup of tea sitting on a sofa early in the morning, or grabbing a Kindle on my way out, and knowing I don’t carry much extra weight.

In the end, it’s not an easy choice to make between paperbooks and E-books, and I made it easier for keeping (and acquiring) both types of books. 

2 thoughts on “Paperbook vs. E-book

Leave a Reply

