Finishing touches – inspirations for the toilet

The first ”room” to be completed with the final touches seems to be the toilet. It’s a small and narrow place, basically just the toilet and a small sink. What I miss the most here is storage. I don’t need much, but I need it. I mean, is there a worse thing than running out of toilet paper?

Luckily, lots of inspiration can be found out online. My favourite is building a small cabinet around the sides and above, like this one found on wayfair.com. The down point is, I should have it custom made, which would get pricier.

Cabinet surrounding the toilet

 

An alternative to this cabinet is a simple wire rack to hold the most needed accessories, that is rolls of toilet paper and reading material. Apparently, the more skilled could make it themselves (DIY project).

A simple wire rack

Among many toilet paper storage solutions, a glass vase is by far my favourite. I’m actually looking for a tall vase with the right dimensions to hold toilet paper rolls. A down point here would be accumulation of dust, that would need regular wiping, but I guess I can do that. Doesn’t it look pretty?

Vase as a toilet paper holder

Installing shelving above the toilet was our first thought, but while remodelling our bathroom and the toilet, we decided to move the water heater to the toilet, to make the bathroom more spacious. This one was the an inspiration for the colour scheme. I wanted a blue one first, as there are no windows in the bathroom and the toilet, and I wanted some bright colours. As we failed to find something suitable, this brown scheme proved to me that brown does not necessarily make a room darker.

Shelving above the toilet

Decorations on the above picture look lovely, and I’d love to have a plant included, but as there’s no window, I’m not sure how the poor plant would survive it.

Hopefully, the toilet will be done in a month or so, and I’ll blog the final design.

Leave a Reply

