The spring awakening

It’s been a while since my last post, and a lot happened in this time. Mostly, I was kept to busy to sit behind the computer, and I spent much more time outside than I did before. The reason for this was extremely nice weather, sunny and warm with little winds. Also, the days got longer, and it was great taking even longer walks in daylight. I used the opportunity and went to visit a local botanical garden Arboretum Volčji potok. Considering I bought a year ticket, I’ll be there again and many times. It’s the largest horticultural facility in Slovenia, and very well known. When travelling, I always try to visit local parks and botanical gardens, but for some reason this didn’t apply locally. Now that I’m living very close to the Arboretum, I took the opportunity and went there for a long walk. The grounds is about 80 hectare, and there’s a lot of paths around it. As I went there in the middle of a work day, and since the spring is at the beginning, there were hardly any visitors. To top it off, a very nice elderly lady I met at the entrance gate while leaving the park, made a nice comment about my age while chatting about leaving home and living on your own. Apparently, in her eyes I was a 20 year old. No need to say, I’ll be back to the park to here more comments like this. And to see the nature bloom, too.

Hellebore flowers
Reflections
A lonely daisy
Snowdrops
Spring snowflake
Saffron crocus
Park benches
Reflections in the pond
3 thoughts on “The spring awakening

Leave a Reply

