DIY Washi Tape ideas

I bought my first set of 4 Washi tapes couple days ago, and I’m loving it. I discovered them on Pinterest (as many other interesting things), and decided to give it a try. I’m not the most handy person, so I wasn’t sure if they’d survive my DIY skills.

Washi tapes
Washi tapes

My first very mini DIY Washi project was to decorate a tea light. I got the idea for this from the Something Turquoise blog. It’s actually a really simple way to upgrade the simple tea lights and bring them to a higher level. I only decorated one tea light, but I’m waiting for my order to arrive (yes, I ordered more Washi on Ebay).

Washi tape decorated tea light
Washi tape decorated tea light

As decorating the tea light was so easy and straight forward, I wanted to do more. There’s quite a selection of posts on how to decorate various tins, pots and jars. As I have loads of tins left from the baby milk, I decided to put them to use. I wrapped them in layers of Washi tape. It was actually easier to apply it in straight lines, much easier than I thought. I’m guessing the lines on the tin helped. The before (boring) tins looked like this.

The tins before the transformation
The tins before the transformation

The after (nicely decorated) tins were a much nicer sight, specially after I filled them with homemade cookies and took them to my aunts as a welcome gift.

Washi tape decorated tins
Washi tape decorated tins

I wasn’t sure initially if the Washi tapes I had complement each other. I’m happy with the end result, and I’m looking forward to get my hands on more Washi tapes. I have a couple of this tins where I keep the extra nails and mini tools, and they definitely need updating. Another great project is to decorate picture frames, I have just the right set of simple wooden frames that could use some colours. Just need to get more Washi.

Leave a Reply

