Chocolate chip and mint chocolate cookies

I have a very big sweet tooth, but I’m also an unexperienced baker, so I love easy recipes for two reasons. Easy recipes mean almost a 100% success and they’re usually also quick, which means not much time is spent between tidying up the kitchen and enjoying the freshly baked cookies. Ok, I often have a bite or two while cleaning up the mess from baking.

Recently, I tried chocolate chip cookies my sister made based on recipe in one of her American baking books and they were really great and buttery just melting in my mouth. The recipe seemed easy, so I gave it a try when I got back home. Well, the first time they didn’t turn out as they should, but they were tasty anyway. I blamed my lack of experience with the new oven, but more importantly, I didn’t follow the recipe carefully, which was probably the main reason for failing. Now, after several batches of (successfully) baked cookies I felt confident to make a few changes to the recipe – I used less sugar and substituted chocolate chips with either mint chocolate or white chocolate and coconut flour.

The ingredients

240 g white flour
1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
170 g soft butter (unsalted)
120 g sugar (originally it was 200 g)
1 teaspoon vanilla sugar
2 eggs (originally it was 1 egg and 1 egg yolk)

125 g chocolate chips (originally it was 350 g)

Recipe
First step is to mix the soft butter and sugar together. Make sure the butter is soft enough to mix homogeneously with the sugar. One of my mistakes was that the butter was not soft enough, and even after thorough mixing, there were still chunks of butter visible in the dough. I use granulated brown sugar, but I guess any kind would work. Also, I downsized the sugar content, as the cookies were actually really too sweet for my taste (very unusual, I know).
Mixing soft butter and sugar
Mixing soft butter and sugar

I added two eggs to this mix, although the original recipe called for 1 egg and 1 yolk, but I didn’t know what to do with the left over egg white, so I just mixed it all in.

Adding the eggs
Adding the eggs

If you see chunks of butter in the mix, this will affect the cookies, unless you mix it really well, but that will take time. Some of the cookies will have too much or too little butter, and they will bake differently and won’t look as nice as they should (I ate them anyway).

A mix of butter, sugar and eggs
Well mixed butter, sugar and eggs

In a separate bowl, I mixed the flour, baking soda, vanilla sugar and the chocolate chip cookies. If I don’t have chocolate chips at hand, I just chop a chocolate bar to smaller pieces. It takes more time, but the result is the same. Make sure to mix the powdered ingredients well.

Powdered ingredients
Powdered ingredients

The powdered ingredients should be added to the butter/sugar/egg mix by spoon while mixing it. I’m not that slow, and I add the powdered ingredients in 3 or 4 steps. If you want to add it all at once, I strongly advise against it, as the flour will be all over the place when mixing (at least in my case this happened).

Combining the butter/sugar/eggs mix with the powdered ingredients
Combining the butter/sugar/eggs mix with the powdered ingredients

The dough is rather soft, but it’s not easy to mix it with the mixer (at least my mixer is at its limit when mixing this dough). At this point the dough needs to be cooled for at least an hour (it can be left in the fridge for up to 24 hours – but who wants to wait this long for the cookies).

The mixed dough
The mixed dough

I wrap the dough in a transparent foil and leave it for in the fridge for an hour to chill. If I’m making more than one batch, I prepare it while cooling the first batch. Otherwise, I use this free hour to clean up the counter and do the dishes, and if I’m quick enough, make myself a cup of tea (everytime I baked them, I did it in the late evening).

Cooled dough
Chilled dough

The chilled dough is more stiff, and you have to use some muscle to get small chunks off the main mass to make small balls of dough. If leaving the dough for too short, the dough will be too sticky to make the balls, so it’s best to leave it in the fridge for at least one hour.

Cooled dough
Cooled dough

I always line the baking tray with baking paper. The balls should be apart enough, so that they don’t stick together while baking.

Balls of dough
Balls of dough

I bake them at 180°C for approximately 10 minutes. I wasn’t sure how long to leave them in the oven the first time I made them, and I overbaked them. Later, I got a usefull advice – the cookies are baked when the edge of the cookies gets brown.

Baked cookies
Baked chocolate chip cookies

In my opinion, these cookies need to cool down before eating them, but they’re almost as tasty when still warm. After a day or two, the cookies are more firm than when straight from the oven. However, in both cases they taste great and really melt in my mouth.

Alternatively, chocolate chips can be substituted with mint chocolates. I’m using mint chocolate sticks, which are easily chopped to smaller bites.

Mint chocolate sticks
Mint chocolate sticks

If you like the mint flavour as I do, you should try this. The cookies don’t differ much from the classic chocolate chip cookies, but the mints make them slightly different, and whoever tried this mint version, was positively surprised.

Mint chocolate cookies
Mint chocolate cookies
One thought on “Chocolate chip and mint chocolate cookies

Leave a Reply

