10251 Brick Bank

TLG made an announcement of the next in line of the Modular Buildings Series, namely the Brick Bank (10251). One thing is sure, this is the next in line set for my shopping list. That doesn’t come as a surprise, since I adore the Modular Buildings Series. I’ve been following some of the AFOL community responses about this set, and as expected there’s a lot of mixed opinions. I usually don’t make many comments on sets I haven’t build, as the building part is an important part of the experience. However, considering my reaction when I saw the first pictures of the Brick Bank, I decided to share my opinion.

I was shocked, but in a positive way. Despite having lots of work, I was constantly re-evaluating the pictures and taking in the amount of details, new parts and re-colours. I could say I was hypnotized by it. I really like the neoclassical building style of the bank as well as the side building with the laundromat. One of the things I like the most about is the use of some very special parts. Most of the sets I consider as a building material for my MOCs, and I’m already seeing those sand green windows, grey ingots (the bars on the facade) and the triangular tiles in my future MOCs. Another thing I like about this building, but many AFOLs don’t, is a clear line between two parts of the building giving an impression of two separate buildings. This creates an interesting skyline, and if you consider that a street of buildings rarely has all street facing facade done in the same style and size, this detail actually adds a bit of realism to the model. All in all, TLG’s designer(s) did a great job (again).

Leave a Reply

