Shroud for a Nightingale

The last book I read was P. D. James’ Shroud for a Nightingale. It’s a novel from the Adam Dalgliesh mistery series. It was my forth P. D. James’ novel (I also read The Lighthouse, Cover Her Face, and The Private Patient), and clearly, she’s becoming one of my favourite authors.

The story takes place in the Nightingale House, where young women are learning the nursing skills. The plot complicates with sudden deaths of two of the students, and that calls for Dalgliesh’ expertise to identify the killer. One of my first association about this novel were that it actually had a similar feel to Agatha Christie’s settings (situated somewhere in the English country side, in a partially isolated community with medical skills and intriguing past of the characters). As a non-native reader, I was excited to read proper English. Lately, most of the English literature was writen in American English, and the difference here was outstanding. Considering the language, there were plenty of unknown expressions, and this was for me an important part of reading experience. It brought me back about twenty years to my first books read in English (A. Christie’s), and the ultimate joy of great misteries. To conclude, P. D. James is now officially on my favourites list, and I’m looking forward reading more of her novels.

515t3v9uxll-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Leave a Reply

